Members of the Vienna Philharmonic

Formed in 1995 by section principals of the Vienna Philharmonic, the Wiener Virtuosen have rapidly gained an international reputation for style and excellence and as a respected ambassador of the Viennese musical tradition throughout the world.

The Wiener Virtuosen formation consisted originally of a string quintet (with double bass) and a wind quintet. Since then the ensemble has become more flexible in order to cover a large and diverse repertoire, and now the musicians vary in number from an octet formation to a chamber orchestra, thus enabling them to present works from the Classical, Romantic and 20th-century periods, including symphonies and concertos for full-scale orchestra.

A host of internationally acclaimed soloists have performed with the Wiener Virtuosen, including Thomas Hampson, Diana Damrau, Barbara Bonney, Michael Schade, Angelika Kirchschlager, Mischa Maisky, Rudolf Buchbinder, Dmitri Sitkovetsky and Julian Rachlin, to name just a few. The Virtuosen play an important part in Austrian cultural life and are increasingly in demand. Successful tours have taken the ensemble to the most important concert halls and festivals in Europe, Japan and the USA.

Since 2005 the ensemble has presented its own subscription series at the Vienna Musikverein and in 2007 assumed responsibility of the traditional New Year’s Concert in the Vienna Josefstadt, taking place always on Epiphany on 6 January.

The Virtuosen’s recent Deutsche Grammophon recording of Des Knaben Wunderhorn with Thomas Hampson was praised as a “rediscovery of Mahler” and awarded the prestigious ECHO award in 2011.

2012/13 season